About Akhanda Yoga

Akhanda Yoga is designed to make you feel good! The aim is to reconnect you with your subtler self and experience bliss and wholeness.

Akhanda Yoga

The Sanskrit word Akhanda translates to words like whole, complete, indivisible and unbroken tradition. It is the first word of a beautiful Vedic mantra “Akhanda mandala karam” which means “This cosmos and the manifest universe is one indivisible entity”.

It is a holistic and traditional style of Hatha Yoga, designed to clear the energy channels in the body for one to experience expanded consciousness and live in bliss. It has a lighthearted approach, and allows us to feel happy with our bodies and lives just the way they are RIGHT NOW. Everything else begins to ‘fall into place’ as we start to befriend and respect our bodies and minds.

The practice cultivates contentment and deep acceptance of self and others as the foundation of the practice is based upon non competition and non judgement. The whole class is meditative and we always concentrate or meditate at the start and close of a class, as the whole purpose of yoga is to develop a meditation practice and be able to sit comfortably as you meditate.

Each class includes asana (postures) pranayama (breathe control) mantra (chanting AUM and some other mantras) guided relaxation and meditation. The class is balanced between effort and allowing, yin and yang, the eight directional movements of the spine and practice of the six traditional paths…

Akhanda Yoga

The 6 Traditional Paths

Hatha Yoga

Techniques in kriya, asana, bandha, pranayama, mudra and meditation.

Mantra Yoga

The use of Vedic mantras for clarity and peace.

Jnana Yoga

Vedanta philosophy and the concept of Oneness as the essential reality of the Universe.

Bhakti Yoga

Kiirtan, chanting, contemplation of devotional aphorisms and the attitude of surrender to all that is.

Raja/Ashtanga Yoga

Patanjali’s yoga sutras, mindfulness, meditation, and the eight fold path.

Karma Yoga

Discernment of right action, and responsive rather than reactive action.
If we look more closely at the purpose of Akhanda Yoga, it is to revive the whole meaning of Hatha Yoga;  ‘Ha’ is the Sanskrit word for ‘Sun’ whilst ‘Tha’ is the word for ‘Moon’. Ha-tha refers to the union of Sun and Moon energy, which can be attained through the clearing of the energy pathways in the body. The Ida and Pingala nadis are the Moon and Sun energy pathways which begin at the base of the spine in Muladhara Chakra (energy centre) and travel up the spine to meet between the eyebrows at Ajna Chakra (energy centre). Akhanda Yoga balances the Ida and Pingala nadis with asana, pranayama, breathe retention and bandhas (locks) to channel vital energy up the Shushumna nadi which travels up the spine between the Ida and Pingala nadis. Ida and Pingala weave and create Chakras (energy centres) which all hold different energies that we experience in our lives. Akhanda Yoga teaches us that we have subtler layers to our physical body. We also have an emotional layer, an energetic layer, a mental layer and a bliss layer.
My aim is to guide you back to your blissful layer of self again and again, whilst teaching you how to attain and maintain it for yourself.
The bliss layer has tremendous healing powers, and when we rest in our bliss we heal our whole self on a deep and profound level.
This is the magic of Akhanda Yoga! 

Would you like to join me?

Bliss Mission has it’s own heartbeat. It is continuously evolving (as we all are), expanding and going with the flow of divine nature.

Subscribe to the Bliss Mission Newsletter

Subscribe to the Bliss Mission Newsletter and receive special offers as well as the latest news.

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter.